Member Spotlight Archives

2012 IEEE MGA achievement award
Dave Kemp, Winnipeg

Eric Newell won the UBC Outstanding Alumni Award for 2011. Ron Britton has received the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Manitoba “Champion of Engineering Education Award.  At the EIC 125th Anniversary Gala in Ottawa, Dan Meneley was awarded an EIC Fellowship.

Colin Smith received the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal from BC’s Lieutenant Governor.

Elmer Brooker, Harold Page and Norm Lawrence have been awarded The Consulting Engineers of Alberta Lieutenant-Governor’s Award for Distinguished Achievement.

On June 21st Drew Wilson is being awarded a Fellowship of the Canadian Academy of Engineering.

Ron Gilkie of Halifax, Dennis Paddock of Regina, and Drew Wilson of Ottawa were inducted as Fellows of The Canadian Academy of Engineering on June 21st. Philip Cockshutt was presented with the Nadeau Award in recognition of his services to The Academy as ìEDî.

Ken Putt has been appointed to a new Alberta Innovates – Energy and Environment Solutions (AI-EES) Review Panel, to complete a review of the Centre for Oil Sands Innovation (COSI).

Andy Molozzi of the Vancouver Island Branch has been inducted into the Georgetown District High School Hall of Fame. Andy was one of the principal designers of Canada’s… Read More

Marie Lemay, currently Chief Executive Officer of the National Capital Commission, has been appointed Associate Deputy Minister of Infrastructure.

Director Pieter Van Vliet and Pieter’s wife, Ann Van Vliet, have been awarded Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals for their respective contributions, Pieter to engineering… Read More

On July 19, at the Pacific Northwest Economic Region’s annual Summit Meeting in Saskatoon, attended by over 500 delegates, Director Colin Smith was named the recipient of… Read More

Eric Newell of the Edmonton Branch is the second recipient (after former Prime Minister Paul Martin) of the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business and Sodexo Canada Award… Read More

Director Jerry Cuttler is chairing the CSA Technical Subcommittee, revising CSA N290.1-80 “Requirements for the Shutdown Systems of Nuclear Power Plants”.
Read More

Director and Past President Jon Jennekens gave a talk entitled “50 Years of Nuclear-electric Power in Canada” to the McMaster University Branch of the Canadian Nuclear Society… Read More

Jean-Guy Rene Eng, FCSSE was appointed by the mayor of Quebec City as the chair of a steering committee charged with the overseeing the building… Read More

S.C. (Chan) Wirasinghe, P.Eng. FCSSE has been elected First Vice President of the Alberta Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists (APEGA). Read More

Colin Smith FEC P.Eng. was named Alumni of the Year for Community Service at the UBC Engineering Alumni Awards dinner March 1st 2012. Read More

Andrew H Wilson P.Eng. FEIC, FCSSEhas been elected a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering. Read More

Robin Black, Ph.D., P.Eng., C.C.E. has been appointed “Visiting Scholars” by the University of Victoria. Read More

Ken Putt, P.Eng., FCAE, FEIC, FCSSE has been appointed “Visiting Scholars” by the University of Victoria. Read More